Art, music, dance, theater—so many genres of performing arts. A child on stage at their first recital, playing their instrument. So nervous, yet so confident. As I think about that child, I think about my own experiences, my own love of the arts. I have been involved in performing arts programs my entire academic career. I knew that music was my passion for as long as I can remember.  As I sit and think about how music has molded me as the strong, confident woman I am today, I often think what would life have been like for me without these performing arts programs. Without this introduction into this world of possibility, who knows where my life would have ended up.

Children as young as 5 years old have been given the opportunity to be involved in a performing arts program. The arts definitely have a positive impact on students academically. Statistics show that music students received more academic honors and awards than non-music students, and that a higher percentage of music participants received As, As/Bs, and Bs than non-music participants.

